top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsabel Micallef

God in Disguise


In some of the previous entries, we have talked about how difficult it is for us to hear God’s voice. We said that we needed a special set of skills to recognise God’s answers and messages, that we needed to be very attentive. However, how much easier would it be if we could literally

speak to God and hear His response just like we would with any other human

being?


Well, I have some good news for you: This does happen sometimes!


I think I can safely say that all, or at least, most of us, have an issue

or two which create a burden, something that weighs us down. Very often it

is something that we find it hard to talk about, some of us more than

others.


I’m the latter kind of person. I don’t like to talk about my problems and

my big issues, because they’re mine to deal with and I don’t want them or

me to become a burden on anyone else. It’s a stubborn approach, I know,

but I am working on it.


However, there are some days where you simply cannot take it anymore,

where you feel like something in your chest is about to explode and the

only way to prevent this nuclear explosion from happening is by reaching

out to someone, usually a carefully, meticulously selected friend.


This weekend I had one of those days, on Saturday I was going nuclear. So,

I challenged my ego and messaged a friend and asked her whether we could

meet up. We set up to meet the next day. Sunday evening came and we met.

First, we spent some time small talking, I was trying to find the right

way to start talking about what was bothering me and she was giving me

space and time to do so, easing into the conversation. When the warm-up

was ready (yes, I did just use a sport expression), there was a pause, she

looked at me and smiled, as if to tell me, ‘whenever you’re ready’. I

laughed nervously, but somehow, I started talking. Bits and pieces of

information at first with quite a few pauses to think about what and how I

was going to say next, but it got the ball rolling. She quietly sat there,

listening to me, acknowledging what I was saying occasionally, but giving

me all the time to vent out my burdens. When it seemed like I was done,

she spoke. And believe me when I tell you, that it wasn’t her who was

speaking, it was the sound of her voice, sure, but it was God speaking

through her.


How am I so sure? You may ask. Well, first, because all the anxiety I was

feeling in the beginning disappeared, secondly what she said made so much

sense and put everything into perspective, into God’s perspective, the

perspective of love.


After we parted ways, I was left feeling like some of the burden had been

lifted off my chest, what a peaceful feeling!


I apologise for the long essay today; I just want to help you understand

how God works. You may not be able to talk to Him in person and get an in-

person response, but He uses every possible means to communicate with us.

Sometimes He takes the form of one of our friends.


Think of a friend in whom you see God’s reflection and call them or send

them a message of appreciation.


God bless you, friend!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page