top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsabel Micallef

He is both our rest and comfort

“Come to me all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest” (Matthew 11:29).


I knew deep down that I had nowhere else to go except to Him. In all my striving He is the rest, comfort, peace and consolation that I seek. Only He could understand the depths of my heart, my brokenness, whose love for me was unconditional and all that I would ever need. 


I am aware that I am not the only one who has sometimes felt alone… forgotten… unseen… overwhelmed…hopeless. At that moment, what we want is for God to make all things right. We want Him to take away the heartache, to fix the broken relationships, to make it all easy, and good. But oftentimes as we cry out, something different happens…. We realise that our vulnerability allows us to feel Him and see Him again.


Maybe that is what this pain and heartaches and lonely experiences are all about – they give us a reason to run to our Father. This is a practice we often forget! It allows us to vulnerably stand before Him, to offer our insecurities, pain, fear and confusion. Striving to rest in a real relationship with Him allows us to rediscover the most important thing we could ever learn, i.e. our secure identity as His beloved children.


So I invite you today to approach God in prayer. No matter what you are going through or where you are in life right now, God is telling you to go to Him and He will give you rest (Matthew 11:28). Now is the time to consider finding rest in God. I promise you it is the best thing you could ever do and it is worth it! For He cares for you, He loves you and He already has the answer and solution you need.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

©2020 by Seeker Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page