top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsabel Micallef

What’s my purpose?


I’ve been feeling quite down lately, these past two days especially. It’s not the first time I have felt this way, from time to time I get this same feeling which usually lasts for a few days. However, I never quite managed to wrap my head around the reason. That is until yesterday evening. I was sitting quietly in my bedroom, watching a live streamed mass, when it dawned on me: I lost sight of my purpose, if I ever had one that is. I don’t know the reason why I am on this earth.


I know a lot of people, faith believers or not, seem to think that we all have a purpose on

this earth, and maybe that is the thought which kept me going all these years, even

unconsciously. Also, it seems that the majority of the people take time to actually

understand their purpose, even years, sometimes one doesn’t understand what their

purpose was until their last breath. Thinking about this makes me sad, honestly. Does it

mean that their life was meaningless? Wasted?


I am not guru, but my answer would be, no. Even though one might not have been

conscious about their purpose here on Earth, it does not in anyway mean that they have

not fulfilled their purpose. Would their life have been happier had they known? Maybe.

Would knowing have made their lives a little easier? Probably. But even though we have

a right to a happy time on Earth, we have to keep in mind our goal. It may take us all our

lives to understand our purpose, but one thing is for sure, our destination. We should

never have second thoughts about that.


Talk to God about this, pray so that He may give you the strength to keep going even

though you might not know exactly what your purpose is, remember you have one: You

make a difference in the world, make sure it’s a good one, and you’re good to go!

God Bless you!

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page