top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsabel Micallef

The Lord is my Shepherd


A few months ago, I was searching for some worship songs to create a new playlist to listen to, as I started working from home. I came across one called Psalm 23 (by Zach Winters) and was surprised to hear that it was the actual psalm, sung in an indie/folk style that I liked. It immediately became a favourite in my playlist, and I remember telling myself ‘I can finally learn all the verses from this well known psalm’, as it was easier to pick up, when put in a song.


As I listened to it almost every day, I became interested more on it’s message and how it was speaking to my life. It came during a difficult patch, when Covid-19 had just hit where I live. As some of you must have experienced too, a lot of insecurities, worries and many changes were taking place in my life because of this virus. I’m not a fan of change, especially ones that come all of a sudden and leave you with little control. I constantly worried about people I love getting sick, I was unsure of whether it will affect my job, I was also frustrated because I couldn’t find things to do in my free time. Staying away from friends and family was probably the most difficult change that I had to get used to. I’m not an extrovert as a person but the longing for meeting and seeing people I loved, physically, was so tough. I also realised how much of a germaphobe I can turn out to be…and that added to the stress and anxiety too.

So as I reflected on the words of this Psalm, I was reminded of God’s grace and presence through that difficult time. It sounds obvious to say but by hearing this song, it was an extra nudge during the day, that whatever dark moments we face, He is with us, to guide and protect us. Just like a Shepherd would take care of His sheep by taking them to rest in green grass, and lead them to the water. And there’s probably not enough times to be reminded of this. Every time this song was played, it gave me comfort to know that I wasn’t going through it alone. It also gave me courage to face all the changes and challenges that came with them, because I Had God with me, to help me get through them. More than that, with the verse ‘Surely your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life’ I know that at the end of it all, He will make things good, even if I don’t see it clearly enough yet. And after this rough time ends, there will still be other challenges to get through, but as long as we remember that He is our Shepherd, then we can rest in knowing that we will lack nothing because He will take care of you and me.


“Even though I walk

through the darkest valley,

I will fear no evil,

for you are with me;

your rod and your staff,

they comfort me.”

If you’re struggling to get through a difficult chapter in your life, and your faith in His goodness and love is weak, why not listen to this version of Psalm 23 and let it give you strength and comfort as you walk in your darkest valley.


Below are a Youtube link and a Spotify link to hear 'Psalm 23' by Zach Winters.





15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page